Use SeaTalk

Learn how to use SeaTalk

Delete messages

You can delete messages to tidy up a conversation. However, when you select Delete, it will only remove the message from your device.

If you’ve sent a wrong message to someone, you should recall a message to delete it from all devices, including your recipient’s. It will be permanently deleted.

Delete a message

Mobile

  • On your mobile device, open the SeaTalk app.
  • Tap the chat with messages to delete.
  • Tap and hold the message you want to delete. A menu will appear.
  • Tap Delete.
  • If you want to delete other messages as well, select them and tap the bin icon in the bottom right.
  • Tap Delete. The messages will be removed from only your devices.

Desktop

  • In the SeaTalk desktop application, click the chat with messages to delete.
  • Right-click the message and select Delete.
  • If you want to delete other messages, click the messages.
  • At the bottom, click Delete.
  • In the dialog box, click Delete. The messages will be removed from only your devices.

Recall a message

You can recall messages within the last 7 days:

  • if you sent them; or
  • if you’re the group admin.

Mobile

  • On your mobile device, open the SeaTalk app.
  • Tap the chat with messages you want to remove from all devices.
  • Tap and hold the message you want to recall. A menu will appear.
  • Tap Recall.
  • If you want to retrieve other messages from your recipient’s device, select them and tap the icon in the bottom right.
  • Tap Confirm. The messages will be removed from all devices.

Desktop

  • In the SeaTalk desktop application, click the chat with messages you want to remove from all devices.
  • Right-click the message and select Recall
  • If you want to retrieve other messages from your recipient’s device, click the messages.
  • At the bottom, click Recall. The messages will be removed from all devices.
Updated 05 Apr, 2021

Was this helpful?

Yes
No
Still can't find what you are looking for?
Contact Us